Water tank level sensor schematic feedback

Hello everyone,

Let me start by saying that I'm not an engineer, so my schematic or understanding of electronics knowledge might be a bit... lacking.

That being said, I have an underground water tank, and I want to have some way of measuring the level of water inside it.

I previously tried with a time-of-flight sensor, but i had mainly two issues :

• the distance between the sensor and the arduino (a few meters), which was too big for I2C.
    This might have been solved with some I2C extender, but...
  • the sensor was exposed to humidity, cobwebs, ... which was impacting its readings.
    I could have created a waterproof enclosure, but it seemed like more work.

After more research, I'm now considering using a submersible pressure sensor.
I could drop it in the bottom of the tank.
Most of them use a 4-20mA current loop, which could solve the distance issue (not sure yet what AWG I should use, or if I should use an electric sheath or something).

I tried to make a schematic with KiCad, and I'd like to have your feedback.
A few points :

• I opted for an arduino nano 33 IoT, so I can send data through WiFi
  • It apparently supports up to 24v (I'll use a 12v wall wart) for power
  • It only supports 3.3v for I/O, so I'm using two voltage regulators :
    -- one to drop from 12v to 5v for an oled display
    -- from where I drop again from 5v to 3.3v for I/O (a button)
  • The wiring of the pressure sensor is inspired by the following comment : Measuring 4 ... 20 mA from using 12 VDC, 2 Wire or 3 Wire - #4 by Wawa
    I'm not entirely sure if the R5 10k resistor is correctly placed.

Thanks a lot !

David

EDIT: here's an updated version based on your feedbacks :

Can't you use the internal pull-up resistor for your display switch?

1 Like

I thought so initially, but then I saw in the datasheet :

Also, as opposed to Arduino Nano boards that support 5V