Wemos and addressable led strips

ey people!

I wanted to ask if there is anybody experimenting with Wemos and addressable led strips.

I would really like to use a Wemos D1 (https://www.wemos.cc/product/d1.html) to run a program based on neopixels library or fastled library, and instead of writing a pin, sending the information of this pin via wifi to several Wemos D1 mini (https://www.wemos.cc/product/d1-mini.html)

I havent yet done anything via wifi, so before getting into it wanted to ask if there is somebody with some knowledge from which I can grab myself.

:slight_smile:

My Beginner's guide to the ESP8266 should get you started.
Then just look for a Neopixel library that works with the ESP. Or if you want to get really fancy, you could use the I2S bus to drive the Neopixels, but that's going to be pretty hard for a complete beginner.

Pieter

thanks pieter!

I will start looking!

I've successfully used a WeMos D1 Mini with WS2812 addressable LED strips using the FastLED library:

I'm sure the NeoPixels library would also work fine.
I used a 74AHCT125 for shifting the 3.3 V logic of the ESP8266 up to the 5 V recommended for reliable operation of the WS2812. I put the recommended 470 Ohm resistor on the data line and 1000 uF capacitor on the power lines of the LED strip.

ey guys!

@PieterP

I2S looks like chinese to me. Nut I find your "Beginner's guide to the ESP8266" very helpful and I am going to check it out all with time.

@pert

-Could you guide me in how to connect a 74AHCT125 for this application? Would this do the job? link
-The 1000 uF capacitor goes between 5v and GND? What is its porpouse?

Thanks!

camilozk:
-Could you guide me in how to connect a 74AHCT125 for this application?

Refer to the pinout of the 74AHCT125 shown in the datasheet:
www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74ahct125.pdf

1OE-5V 1OE-GND
1A-ESP8266 digital pin used to control the addressable LED strip
1Y-Data line of strip
2OE-GND 2OE-5V
2A-N/C*
2Y-N/C
GND-GND
3Y-N/C
3A-N/C