What language do I use?

I am using and arduino with wifi and port forwarding. My goal is to be able to create a web based program that will communicate with my arduino wirelessly to control a sunrise sunset affect with an led array. I want the program to be accessible anywhere and I want to be able to interrupt the program for set periods of time like a storm for example and then have the program go back to its normal original program(sunrise/sunset)

I am a beginner at programming I have my arduino set on a timed program not on a clock and I'm getting my wifi shield and I need help getting started. Anything with be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

What language do I use?

The Arduino is programmed in C++ (which is a superset of C). The Arduino has to be programmed to served up, and respond to, a web page which is coded in html. But, html is text based, so you will be sending text that some other computer sees as a distinct language.

This is not beginner programming, if you have never done web programming, web page design, client/server communication, or (as appears to be your case) any programming.

You know, someone could make a killing selling an aquarium control shield, given the number of posts on here on the subject. An RGB LED string driver, an RTC module, perhaps some relays for air pump control and feeders, with a library to tie it all together.

In a nut shell that is my overall goal. A complete stand alone module that can control lights. Next would be the I/o for pumps probes ect. I need to first figure out what I need to learn programming wise before I get in over my head too fast. So c++ and then I need to convert HTML a text language into c++ where next?

then I need to convert HTML a text language into c++

No.
HTML is a text language, you have to make sure that your arduino serves up this language on request from a web client.

before I get in over my head

I think you were there a long time ago if you don't know what language an arduino uses.