When to use a schematic VS a block diagram VS a Fritzing

I thought it would be interesting to hear people's opinions on block diagrams, Fritzings, and schematics and when they should be used.

Personally, I think Fritzings/TinkerCAD Circuits are great for project which use a lot of ICs or parts without a schematic symbol like Arduino boards or motor drivers. They are also great for projects using a huge amount of connections because you can color code the wires easily. Another use case is tutorials for absolute beginners who might get intimidated by a schematic.

Schematics should be used ONLY if the project uses very few ICs or parts without symbols. For basic electronics projects they are great, but for anything super complex they get out of hand fast.

Block diagrams are nice but there's really no excuse not to use a schematic.

I personally use connection tables. These are tables showing where a wire starts and ends and can include other info like what gauge the wire has to be.

For example:

Start End
Arduino D3 Servo Data
Adapter 5V Servo 5V
Adapter GND Arduino GND & Servo GND

This will be an interesting discussion.

I only know KiCAD, but after an hour or two of reading and examples it only takes a few minutes to make a block diagram with the correct pins for any component.

KiCAD is the best.

Speaking of custom symbols, one area where Fritzing falls flat on its face is usability of more advanced features like custom ICs or parts. I spent a solid hour trying to make a 6-pin IC and got literally nowhere.

So if a system is not capable of serving your needs unless you do backflips, is it really worth it?

An easier to read schematic can be produced faster in KiCAD than in can in fritzing. Plus the codebase for fritzing is terrible. It's not a program, it's three racoons in a trench coat trying to get into an R-Rated movie.

1 Like

I got it for free using some Linux black magic.

sudo apt-get install fritzing