which IDE to use

I am just starting out with arduino, although I am a trained electronics technician and a analyst programmer in C both 20 years+

I have acquired an Arduino Uno R3 clone AND a linkIt ONE comms developoment board and some peripherals

From what I have read there are a myriad of choices for IDE.

1. The official Arduino IDE
  2. AVR Dragon as recommended by Warwick Smith in "C Programming with Arduino". this provides direct upload of compiled/linked code as well as hardware debugging.
  3. many others....

The Arduino IDE will work with both boards the I have.
The Dragon does not directly support the LinkIt one board as a named target.
It seems to me that its likely the C programming book coding
examples will work just as well with either IDE but I will not have the debugging facilities provided by the dragon board.

What can others, more experienced than myself tell me about the various options to guide me along the way to becoming productive with minimal hassle.??

what IDE do you use at work? see if it doesn't have Arduino plugin or version

brynparrott:
2. AVR Dragon as recommended by Warwick Smith in "C Programming with Arduino". this provides direct upload of compiled/linked code as well as hardware debugging.

The AVR Dragon is not an IDE. It is a piece of hardware. It is possible to use the AVR Dragon as a programmer integrated with the Arduino IDE (but the Arduino IDE doesn't have any integrated debugger support) by using this hardware package I wrote: