Why Multiple Resistors

I am relatively new to Arduino, programming and electronics, generally, but have written several successful sketches that use XBee's, LED's, RGB LED's, relays, LCD's, etc. I think I understand the math/logic behind needing a resistor for use with a typical 2v LED, and how to calculate the appropriate resistance.

I have read many different source materials, and each shows three resistors for use with an RGB LED. I can't understand, from a logic/electronics perspective, the need for three resistors (other than the need for a "larger" resistor if using only one.

What am I missing?

Thanks,
Rick

Different colour LEDs have different working voltages.

If you connect a red LED and a blue LED in parallel, with one current limiting resistor..
Then the red LED (Vf ~2volt) will take the full current, while the blue LED (Vf ~3.3volt) won't even light up.
Leo..

MYTraveler:
I can't understand, from a logic/electronics perspective, the need for three resistors (other than the need for a "larger" resistor if using only one.

What am I missing?

Thanks,
Rick

You're only missing the LED specifications. If you know its specifications, like typical operating current value (from product specs), then you can determine a suitable resistor to put in series with the LED.

Usually, a LED can handle at least 10 mA. Sometimes, you might have an unmarked LED sitting in a container, and don't know the operating current. So use a "suitable size" potentiometer (variable resistance) in series with the LED, and set the potentiometer to highest resistance. Then slowly and gradually reduce the resistance until you start getting glowing. And keep reducing resistance until the LED appears to be glowing strongly enough.