Wind Speed Reading

I bought a very simple wind speed sensor here.
It says it is 12-24Volt so i think I should use a voltage divider to keep the voltage to 5 volts max and read that in from a pin on the Arduino.
I am new to this stuff so I would appreciate some guidance on this sort of readings.
Thanks in advance.
Q

Hi, Only two wires??

You need more information from the seller /manufacturer.

Yes, Only 2.
One is ground and one is signal voltage.

I think you would need more than 2 wires. 2 wires would be used only for delivering power (voltage and ground). There should be another wire for giving you the actual readings.

A quick search on ebay gave me these:

Both of them are arduino compatible. You just connect the 3rd voltage wire to any of the analog inputs (A0 to A5) and just read the readings.

That wind speed indicator linked in the OP uses a generator of some sort to develop a voltage proportional to the wind speed (2.5 V at 32 m/s). Many anemometers simply use a toy DC motor as a generator.

It will work fine with the Arduino -- use analogRead() to read the output voltage and convert to wind speed using the table posted on the sales page.

You’ll probably need some averaging too - I’d expect the signal to be noisy

Poor description on that page. The 12V/24V part is misleading, and they're not even sure whether it's got a 2 or 3 meter long wire attached.

DC or AC output voltage?

Have you tried putting a voltmeter on the wires and spinning the rotor?

If you are, my opinion, lucky, you will find that it ISN'T one of the "generator" windspeed sensors, but that it has a switch inside which closes for a time, probably (but not necessarily) once in each rotation of the sensor.