Zener Diode Usage

Hey Folks,

I’m new to electronics and I’m trying to learn more. I’m trying to get a good understanding of how a zener diode works and was hoping people could help me out a little.

In the attached image there are two example of a circuit with a zener diode that has a zener voltage of 5v.

My understanding is that in example #1 the voltage to the load would be 35v and in example 2 the voltage would be 5v. Is this correct?

By the way, the 40v is mostly for purposes of illustration - I will be using a circuit like example #2 that will probably have an voltage supply in the 9v range and I want to limit the input to an arduino pin to 5v.

Thanks in advance for any help.

1. You have to account for the voltage drop across R1, that is going to decrease the voltage seen in both cases.

2. Things in parallel have the same voltage drop (which is exactly what you have in case 2), doing a simple KVL (Kirchhoff's Voltage Law, drawing a simple loop from V+ to V- or Ground to see the way the voltage is dropped across various components), you can see how this is so (in case you needed proof beyond the simple concept that things in parallel have the same voltage, just as things in series share the same current).

As I stated in 1), the voltage in both cases you presented is entirely dependent on what R1 is (as well as your load, but you didn't even take R1 into account).

Note: The easiest ways to analyze an electrical circuit are using KVL's and KCL's, some people say the "Loop Rule" and the "Junction Rule" respectively, but they are Kirchhoff's Voltage and Current Laws, I advise looking them up. There are also other various methods, Mesh, which is very useful, as well as Nodal Analysis (which is more complicated, but allows you to solve any circuit using a system of equations). Keep in mind all these things are for hand calculating results, which it doesn't seem most people do.

Thanks. I will do some reading on KVL and KCL.