1.44" TFT Graphic LCD screen. Why is it so hard to display images?

Hello everyone,

Fairly new user here. :slight_smile:

I have a 1.44" TFT Graphic LCD screen like this one: https://www.creatroninc.com/product/1-44-tft-graphic-lcd-128x128px/ I need this small screen to fit in a project I am working on. I also have a micro SD card breakout board like this :https://www.creatroninc.com/product/microsd-breakout/

I have been able to get the screen working to run a graphics test but my ultimate goal is to, from the push of a button on my Arduino Uno, display one image on the screen, in landscape format.

I want to store the image on a micro SD card so I purchased the breakout board but I am confused as to how to wire it to the screen and the Uno I am using for experimenting.

I am fairly new to Arduino but I have built quite a few projects. I have never used a screen before though and have been thoroughly confused by the libraries needed to load images onto the screen. It seems straight forward, there are tutorials available but they seem to be out of date with the libraries that have changed and I have yet to be able to succeed with anything other than basic graphics.

I just want one image to appear. I didn't imagine it would be so difficult. I am willing to keep trying but I could use a little help to make sure that I am wiring the SD card breakout correctly and with finding basic code that can work to display an image. Below is the first part of the code in an example I have been using to try to figure out the connections:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

// Adafruit_ImageReader test for Adafruit ST7735 TFT Breakout for Arduino.
// Demonstrates loading images from SD card or flash memory to the screen,
// to RAM, and how to query image file dimensions.
// Requires three BMP files in root directory of SD card:
// rgbwheel.bmp, miniwoof.bmp and wales.bmp.
// As written, this uses the microcontroller's SPI interface for the screen