24v 350w pwm controlled motor

Hi guys and girls,

I’m looking to control a large motor (24v, 350w) it only need to turn in one direction so was going to use a n-channel mosfet (specifically the adafruit 30v 60a).

Is that mosfet suitable?
From what I’ve read I’ll need something like a 1n4001 diode in parallel with the motor to prevent feedback spikes.

Will I need a heat sink for the fet? And if so what do I use?

Also guessing the current would be too high for a breadboard so would I be best to just solder it all together?

Sorry for so many questions I’m a bit of a newbie when it come to this.

TIA
Dackie

Hi,

Dackie:
I'm looking to control a large motor (24v, 350w) it only need to turn in one direction so was going to use a n-channel mosfet (specifically the adafruit 30v 60a).

Is that mosfet suitable?

Your motor will need at least 15A (15A * 24V = 360W), but may easily take several times that on startup if your power supply could handle it.

Check the datasheet for the IRLB8721 MOSFET...

min  typ  max      Conditions
RDS(on) Static Drain-to-Source On-Resistance –––   6.5  8.7 mΩ   VGS= 10V, ID=31A
                                             ---  13.1 16        VGS= 4.5V, ID=25A

If you try to drive this directly from an I/O pin at 5v, at 15A it is going to dissipate 3.6 watts so it'll get hot without a good heatsink.

If you use some intermediate transistor to switch the mosfet with VGS = 10V then it will be dissipate less (about 2 watts at 15A), I'd still go with a small heatsink like HEAT SINK, TO-220 8.6°C/W or better (i.e. a lower °C/W figure)

From what I've read I'll need something like a 1n4001 diode in parallel with the motor to prevent feedback spikes.

Yes that's right.

Also guessing the current would be too high for a breadboard so would I be best to just solder it all together?

Definitely solder it together, using a plug-in breadboard would involve funny burning smells etc.