5V Dc Mini Water Pump with Arduino?

First of all, it is my first topic and i want to say hi to you all!! Secondly, i am really a terrible noob and sorry for that :frowning:

I need to make a smart greenhouse project with Arduino Mega 2560, and i found a video to help me with my servomotor(MG996R) which will start working when raindrops module detect rain and 12v DC Fan which will start working when LM35 sensor calculates the weather as hot. However, my third actuator, 5V DC Mini Water Pump, is where i am left without an opinion. All the water pumps people use is 12 V, so i dont know which specific components i should use. I researched a bit and found that people use transistors and diodes for it. Which ones should i use and how to make the connections?

I would appreciate if someone helps me what components, specifically, should i buy and how to connect them together with Arduino 2560? It would be great if you can draw it, like with fritzing or something.

Thanks if you read this far :slight_smile:

Hi Sunstorm welcome to the forum. Sounds like you’ve got most of your project figured out. The pump should operate just like a motor much like your fan. You can use relays or a transistor to switch power to it. The reason it is done this way is because motors that do work (like moving water) will need more current than the Arduino is designed for.

Please look a this link. motor with Arduino

Personally since you already have a 12v power source I would have started with a 12v pump.

Once you get this figured out. You may want to look into monitoring humidity also.

Do you have details of the specific pump? That's the starting point for selecting a driver for it, the drive
circuit needs to be able to handle the voltage, the current and the inductive kick-back. Most likely a
logic level MOSFET and a diode is all you need.

Mark don’t forget the resistors for the gate drain.

DC Voltage: 3-6 V( DC 5V is the ideal voltage)
Maximum lift: 40-110 cm
Flow speed: 80-120L/H