Amplifying thermopile + reading with Arduino

Hello,

I’m quite new in electronics, so forgive any newbie mistakes I make.

For a project in Uni I’m trying to measure IR radiation using a thermopile detector (small bandwidth at 4.26microns).

Since the bandwidth is so small (and it being an unamplified sensor) the signal is very weak (I can just read it using a multimeter, so only a couple of mV). Since I want to read the signal with the Arduino (Uno) I’m trying to amplify it using an op-amp.
The one I found here in our lab is a CA3130.

The circuit I use for it is attached.

The code I first used didn’t work properly:

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  int sensorValue = 0;
  float Voltage = 0;
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  for(int x = 0; x<100;x++){
  // read the input on analog pin 0:
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0);
  float Voltage = sensorValue / 1023 * 5;
  // print out the value you read:
  Serial.print(sensorValue);Serial.print("  ");Serial.println(Voltage);
  delay(1000);        // delay in between reads for stability
}}

Then I used this which did give non-zero values. (but they didn’t react as wildly to IR pulses as when tested with a multimeter)

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
}

int var = 0;

void loop() {
  while(var<49){

// TPO is the measured signal
  int TPO = analogRead(A0);
  float V = TPO * (5.0 / 1023.0);

var++;

Serial.print(Vref);Serial.print(" ");Serial.println(V);
 delay(1000);

}}

So my questions are: Is my circuit right? Will it work properly? I’ve been trying to figure out what could be wrong.
I also already tried with a 9V battery since the op amp’s lower limit is 5V but it should work normally… I don’t quite get it :cold_sweat:

Any help / experience would be welcome!
Thanks.

circuit.png