Analog I/O Port Interference

Hey guys, I'm new to the world of micro controllers and circuits and I've been having some problems with my Arduino Uno, I'm getting tons of interference with the analog I/O ports from static and such when I'm trying to read input voltage, is there any reliable way to fix this? I've considered getting a breadboard, but that will take a few days yet, is there anything else? Will a breadboard even help?

The impedance of an input of the Arduino has a very high impedance. If nothing is connected to the input, you get lots of noise. Rule of thumb is to connect an analog signal with a maximum of 10k impedance (output impedance of the analog circuit that is) to an analog input of the Arduino.

Erdin's 100% correct. If the ADC pins are floating, you just read garbage. ADC channels not being used are best pulled to ground with a resistor, eg 10K.

oric_dan: Erdin's 100% correct. If the ADC pins are floating, you just read garbage. ADC channels not being used are best pulled to ground with a resistor, eg 10K.

Isn't it enough to just not read the analog pins that have nothing wired to them? :D

They won't effect the reading of analog pins that do have stuff properly wired to them.

Lefty

retrolefty:

oric_dan: Erdin's 100% correct. If the ADC pins are floating, you just read garbage. ADC channels not being used are best pulled to ground with a resistor, eg 10K.

Isn't it enough to just not read the analog pins that have nothing wired to them? :D

They won't effect the reading of analog pins that do have stuff properly wired to them.

Lefty

Considering they all share the same Sample-and-Hold buffer and actual ADC sampling hardware, then yes, they can affect the other channels. Anything left over in the S&H capacitor from the previously scanned (but unconnected) input could have an adverse affect. A 10K resistor to ground helps to stabilise the contents of the S&H buffer by bleeding any charge off to ground.

Or that's the theory anyway.