Arduino controlled Chevy V8 firing sequence HELP NEEDED

Good day everyone,

This looked like the best place to share my ambitious project (for me anyway).
Since I know I'll run into some problems coding, as I have little experience in this field but would very much like to learn it.
Best thing to get into this was to find a fun and preferably semi-usefull project to do so.

Since I got a mechanics background and I'm a proper petrolhead, I'm building my own Chevy smallblock V8 coffee table.
I want to have some kind of background lighting in the engine cilinders to have is stand out, so the usual RGB ebay Led strips came to mind.

But after I saw this video on youtube, I have to try and recreate the effect of the cilinders firing in the proper sequence.

So my plan so far:
-I have the Arduino Mega on it's way to me, shouldn't take more than a couple of days.
-I have found a guide on electroschematics.com from a P.Marian who so kindly shared his project, which incidently is almost exactly what I need
http://www.electroschematics.com/9820/arduino-led-ring/
-Basically, I want to have a light source in each cilinder (8 outputs) that turn on in succession and repeating the loop infinitly.

• I will place the finished lights in the correct cilinder afterwards, to have the cilinders firing according to the engine specs. but that is besides the point here.*
    -The speed at which these lights flash from one to the next should be controlled by a potentiometer.

Now, I have my own wiring diagram drawn up arlread. This is for my first testing setup with the single LED's.
So far, this is almost exactly like the article on electroschematics.com so I would guess that I can make it to this point...

From there I would like to add some other features, that might go beyond my current qualifications. That is, for now.
-First, I think the single LED's will need replacing by a LED strip to give enough light to glow in the engine cilinder.