Arduino Nano vs. mbed LPC1768

I am a beginner. Which one should I buy? Is Arduino easier to program?

Arduino Nano:

Microcontroller: Atmel ATmega328 Operating Voltage (logic level) 5 V Input Voltage (recommended) 7-12 V Input Voltage (limits) 6-20 V Digital I/O Pins 14 (of which 6 provide PWM output) Analog Input Pins 8 DC Current per I/O Pin 40 mA Flash Memory: 32 KB of which 2 KB used by bootloader SRAM: 2 KB EEPROM: 1 KB Clock Speed: 16 MHz

mbed LPC1768 Development Board:

• Convenient form-factor: 40-pin DIP, 0.1-inch pitch
  • Drag-and-drop programming, with the board represented as a USB drive
  • Best-in-class Cortex-M3 hardware: o 100 MHz ARM with 64 KB of SRAM, 512 KB of Flash o Ethernet, USB OTG o SPI, I2C, UART, CAN o GPIO, PWM, ADC, DAC
  • Easy-to-use online tools: o Web-based C/C++ programming environment o Uses the ARM RealView compile engine o API-driven development using libraries with intuitive interface

Very interesting is, that MBED has built-in Ethernet - for Arduino you have to buy the Ethernet Shield. We cant compare SRAM and FLASH MEMORY sizes - too different. Unfortunately I am not a C/C++ programmer, so I think this becomes fatal.

Prices from ( www.coolcomponents.co.uk ): Arduino Nano: £34.00 mbed LPC1768: £39.00

• So their price is almost the same..

There is one bad thing with MBED - it has On-line compiler, so when you don’t have an internet connection you can’t do anything … :-/

http://mbed.org/tour/compiler/

Unfortunately I am not a C/C++ programmer, so I think this becomes fatal.

The Arduino is programmed in C/C++, too.

Arduino has free IDE, and lots of open and free code here and everywhere.

The LPC1768 is new, and Cortex-M3 is ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE more complex, fewer libs, even fewer people who know how to debug, etc. Decent Cortex Compilers/IDE are very expensive $$$. Rowley Crossworks is like $1500 US for a commercial lic.

Sure they have a personal lic for $150, but you cannot make any money with it.