Arduino quadcopter pilot - electronics questions

Hi all,

(also posted a similar question on rcgroups.com)

I spent the last couple of months reading up and researching quadcopter builds and I thought I’d use up my Christmas free time to actually start putting one together. I think I’m now at the stage where I know enough to start asking some semi-intelligent questions! Please bear in mind that I’m a beginner not just in quad copters but also in electronics!

My main build components are the following :

• Arduino Nano
  • 4x motors (3.7V DC, 90-100mA, coreless, 6x14mm, 48000RPM)
  • LiPo 240mAh, 1S
  • GY-521 (MPU-6050) 6DOF gyro
  • NRF24L01+ tranceiver module
  • DC Step Up converter to bring the LiPo’s 3.7V to 5V for the Arduino
  • LiPo charger module

First complication is that the Arduino runs on 5V but I have a battery producing 3.7V. For that I’m hoping to using a DC step up module (I think it can produce enough current).
I also need to interface with a couple of modules that operate at 3V (gyro, rf, etc) but from what I’ve seen I might able to just about do without one.

So, I’ve put together a schematic for the electronics in Fritzing that I was hoping someone here would be able to review.

Also, some more specific questions on that schematic :

• Should I be connecting all the GND together and the to the -ve of the battery?
  • Is the DC Step up board wired in correctly? It has 4 connections (IN+, IN-, OUT+, OUT-). Should I connect both IN- and OUT- to GND?
  • Anything else fundamentaly wrong with it? 8]

Many thanks in advance!

Vassilis

No that's not really how you would do it. Even if you want to use brushed motors, I think you'll want to use a separate speed controller unit and control that with a PWM signal.