Australian power laws

Hello I am an electrician. I am licensed to work in Australia and I havemy rec. I am looking at installing an arduino for some home installation and am just curious about legalities of doing this.

if I install all the wiring and certify the wiring and the relays that are rated for the fault current and has the isolation required is there any legal requirement for any certification for the controller.

i know you have to label the switchboard that there is control gear that cpuld automatically switch so requires isolating but since it's 24v that is doing all the thinking does it need certification? are there any safety requirements that need to be followed.

the way I see it, if an electrician goes to the board he will isolate the arduino circuit and the circuit he's working on and everything is predictable and safe?

anyone have other thoughts?

What are you trying to do? Automate the fuse/breaker box?

Hello I am an electrician. I am licensed to work in Australia and I havemy rec. I am looking at installing an arduino for some home installation and am just curious about legalities of doing this.

Sounds to me like you didn't pay attention in class.

This is NOT the place to discuss laws of any country. You should be asking questions of a lawyer.

Let me start off by saying I am NOT a liscensed electrician and any comments I make are from common sense and not based on any laws.

Here in the States, the National Electric Code discusses low voltage and application and also higher voltage and it's application. Here in the States, we use 24VAC or less for most low voltage. this keeps us out of many of the issues you have.

it is ironic that we often tell people to have the work done on the high voltage by a licensed electrican.

As a starting point, the more 'approved' equipment that you use, the less problems you will encounter.

Tangles84: anyone have other thoughts?