Best Budget Multimeter

Hello Forum,

I've to buy a multimeter but I have a limited budget. I'm new to this. I found this multimeter review at Tool Box Nerd about Best Budget Multimeter. I'm wondering what else should I consider while doing my search in selecting the best multimeter which is inexpensive and works precisely.

Looking forward to your recommendations

Mathew

How precise do you need the multimeter to be ?

What type of electronics will you be working with ?

High precision == high cost.

But a basic multimeter will be precise enough for a beginner, and precise enough for an expert in most situations.

I can recommend Uni-T, had one of theirs for 25+ years. Still works well but showing its age now in places.

When I replace it, one thing I will be looking for is type of battery. I would want to use rechargeable AA or AAA as opposed to PP3 (9V). Rechargeable PP3 are only around 8.2V and don't last long, I have not found any low-self -discharge NiMh PP3. Perhaps a Li-ion PP3 could be a good option, they contain boost converter circuit to give full 9V and li-ion has a slow self-discharge rate.

Remember that this is a site for home-DIY-ers, automotive-DIY-ers. The criteria they are judging on is a little different. For use in hobby electronics, you will probably not be measuring voltages over 120/240VAC, but you will want to measure down to milli-volts (mV) and currents down to micro-amps (uA), which are irrelevant for home DIY use, so if the meter it lacking those ranges, the reviewers will probably not notice or care.

What is your budget?
For most applications I think any new DMM is precise enough.
Removable leads are a great advantage because you may have leads with different connectors (crocodile, Dupont male or female).
And I think 2 DMMs are much better than single DMM.

I want a multimeter which is under 30$

I'm a beginner but I want one which can work when I'll work in more expert situations. Thanks for your recommendation