Bill of Material of some common comonents?

Hi everyone

I'm new to the arduino world and I think of buying a starter kit. Since it is quite expensive and many of the components I might not use at all, I was wondering if there are some bill of materials around with some common electrical components such as diodes, switches, MOSFETs, resistors, op Amps, LEDs, jumper cables, H-bridges etc. ?

Because I'm new I get lost if I search for "diode" in an electronics store! I don't want to buy the components for the board itself, but components to do first projects!

Thanks for your help.

I suggest you buy components for a specific project and always get more than you need. I would never buy fewer than 10 of most components. If you do that you will build up a collection and you will know that everything you have you needed at least once.

You can get kits for resistors and capacitors, but I think you just end up with every value you will never need.

I am not sure what you call expensive but I bought a Mega board for about $15AU and a starter kit full of sensors, switches and a display for about $35AU. It also had a small bread board and a heap of wires.

Check out Ebay.

The starter kit is approximately 90€ on amazon, so it's not cheap, right? And yes, I will always buy more components than I need, but currently I just don't have anything beside some LEDs and resistors.

It's tough to make suggestions without knowing what you want to do. I'm sure the "starter kits" come with stuff I'd never use. "Everybody" uses 10K resistors and 0.1uF capacitors!

And, everybody needs a breadboard. And, you'll probably want a multimeter. When something doesn't work as expected you'll need to check voltage or resistance. (and "continuity"). If cost is an issue a cheap meter is better than no meter. And, eventually you'll probably want to (or need to) solder, so a soldering iron, solder, flux, etc.