can i use a different capacitor in this?

Im trying to make a tv be gone key-chain. the schematic im using uses a 22uf 100v capacitor.

I dont have one on hand. I do however have
33uf 25v
47uf 50v
100uf 50v

Im still pretty new to circuits. Im assuming that the capacitor in this case is charging to discharge enough power to the IR LED. This makes me think that its possible to use a different one. But again i dont know a lot about this stuff so im not sure. Im trying to read online to learn about it but im not finding anything specific.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

I'd have to see a schematic, but its probably not critical. In most cases you can use a higher capacitance.

The voltage rating is the maximum voltage and since you have a little battery-operated device you are probably not in danger of over-voltaging the capacitor.

You can use the 35uF
It'sjust a filter cap.
Your assumption waswrobg. It hasnothing to do with charging . It just keeps the voltagestable.

Hello Zenos

Is not safe to change this capacitor for any of those. You have capacitors with less voltage and the replace should be the same.

would be better to watch the schematic diagram to tell you a good answer.

volveralfuturo:
Hello Zenos

Is not safe to change this capacitor for any of those. You have capacitors with less voltage and the replace should be the same.

would be better to watch the schematic diagram to tell you a good answer.

Oh please. Instrucables are notoriously poor designs, this is yet another example. A 33uf 25v is a perfectly reasonable substitute.

Where did you go to school ?

Since when is a 35uF cap not a suitable replacement for a SIMPLE POWER SUPPLY FILTER CAP ?

volveralfuturo:

If you give a rubbish answer like you have done here be prepared to be shot down on this forum. We will answer any question no matter how simple but we will not tolerate incorrect advice being given unchallenged.