Can't switch N channel mosfet

Hello Guys,

I'm new to Arduino.

I'm working on a small project.
I need to turn on/off a power supply with my Arduino.

This is how it should work. If I pull the PS_ON to ground on the power supply it turns on but I have to keep PS_ON pulled down.

This is how I'm trying to make a switch with the Arduino and an N channel mosfet.

I've 5V going to the N channel Mosfet which I can turn on and off with my arduino.

The 5V goes to Gate. Source goes to ground. and Drain goes to PS_ON.
If I apply 5V to Gate the power supply turns on. However if I remove 5V from Gate the power supply is still on. For some reason the mosfet is not turning off. Why? What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.

Try putting a 10k resistor from the gate to ground.

I forgot to say that. If I have 5V applied to Gate it still not turning on until I short Drain to Source for a sec.

What part number is the mosfet?

Do you have the Arduino ground connected to the power supply ground and mosfet source?

hazardus:
If I apply 5V to Gate the power supply turns on. However if I remove 5V from Gate the power supply is still on. For some reason the mosfet is not turning off. Why? What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.

If you left the gate floating, it's going to float... MOSFET gates are insulated by a thin layer of silicon dioxide
so if you don' connect to them they act like the plate of a capacitor and hold charge till it leaks away somewhere.

Hi,

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png?

Can you post a picture of your project so we can see your component layout.

Tom... :slight_smile: