CMOS TTL Level Converters: how to?

Hallo People :-) I'm toying around with an ENC28J60 Ethernet Module like this one http://www.geeetech.com/arduino-enc28j60-ethernet-module-p-263.html and I see here that some kind of level converting is needed, since the module uses 3.3v signals and arduino uses 5v signals.

Ok, I'm not a proficient electrician but I like understanding stuff. I see people using different techniques for converting logic levels, the above mentioned schematics shows an SN74HCT08D, I've seen people using tri state buffers, what else?

Any chance someone wrote a decent guide on TTL-CMOS Level Converting that I'm not finding with Google?!? (my bad!)

I'd really love to implement such a level converter in my Arduino-ENC28j60 wiring and I want to be able to choose the most appropriate one, not the first that pops out of a casual internet search.

I can't answer the question you asked about level converters, but I would remind you that the Arduino has a 3.3v volt pin in addition to the 5v pin. If you are using a standard breadboard to power rails on both sides, I could imagine plugging 5v into the left power rail, and 3.3v into the right (or vice versa). Then for things that need 5v, use the left power rail, and for things that need 3.3v, use the right rail.

There are many many ways to do this. A lot depends on what parts you have.

While there is no "best" way there are some sub optimal ways. If you just want to use FETs then this will work:- http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8745

You get different solution if you want a single direction or a bi-direction conversion. http://www.rocketnumbernine.com/2009/04/10/5v-33v-bidirectional-level-converter

Googling "3v3 to 5v level shifter" brings up a lot more.

ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/01146B.pdf I like this guide, even its written for PIC's, but 99% of tip's are applicable for any 8-bits microcontrollers.