Controlling devices in KNX network by phone App via Arduino

Good day friends,
I would like to start a project for controlling by phone App of my curtains motors which are presently controlled by KNX controllers and KNX switches in different rooms. Such ready devices exist but the cheapest I found cost above 550 EUR. Furthermore it has not skills for Alexa.

Well, I found in internet many topics how to connect Arduino to KNX network, record the telegrams from switches and then send same telegrams to the controllers for imitation of switches actions. The easiest and cheapest interface from serial to KNX bus is by Siemens KNX buss coupler. That is the easier part for me.

However I have no experience how to control Arduino from Phone App via WiFi or Zigbee. I also have not experience in programming for Android or iOS phones. May somebody help in that?

welcome to the forum!

It seems like this is a very difficult project considering your experience and knowhow.
You first need to understand and implement knx protocol, learn basics of rs485, ethernet, arduino language and android environment.
I suggest you start with something easier first and then move on to more complicated projects.

Hi Watcher, thanks for your answer.
Well , I do not think I am so green :grin:
I am Electrical and Electronic Engineer with 40 years experience. But I started to work recently especially with Arduino. RS422 and RS458 are my favorite protocols :grin:

I already did successfully one small project with Arduino Uno, INA226, ADS1115, LSM11 lambda sonde and K type thermo couple for display of O2 content and temperature of exhaust gases of pellet boiler. It works well but I did not published it yet. The code need some refining just to look more beautiful. Just received the aluminium box in which I intend to install it.