Cool looking gauges for park

Hi all!

I work at a park and in our visitor center and lighthouse museum there are boards that contain information for visitors like the temperature, water temperature, temperature at the top of a lighthouse, Tide and such.

I was looking upgrade the inefficient dry erase marker boards with newer more futuristic displays that would update themselves automatically. Temperature information is easy to gather from temperature sensors, I have never done that before with the arduino but I have read on how to do it and it seems easy enough. The problem I have is gathering water temperature readings which are available on the internet from a buoy out at sea (Running a cable to the water is not possible). What are some of the ways that I can try to read information off of a webpage and have that sent to an arduino to move a dial on a analog thermometer?

Also Because the buildings where these displays are to be setup are from 1888 and 1893 I was thinking instead of a modern looking LED or LCD display to have a analog dial like a clock, barometer or pressure gauge and have it driven by a stepper or servo motor.

A servo would probably be easier, and require less I/O making it cheaper to do multiple gages.

Can you work with any programming on a PC? Get the data from a web page and send it serial to an Arduino functioning as a "display" controller.

I am thinking something like Visual BASIC or Visula C or maybe even Processing (little to none experience level with Processing...)

I have a mate who's built a flight simulator that you sit in, with "real" gauges. He drive the gauges with servos IIRC but had to do a lot of mech engineering to get the mechanisms right.

Another way is to use PWM to drive a volt meter where you have redone the face with values as appropriate.

Rob

The_Unreasonable_Man:
What are some of the ways that I can try to read information off of a webpage and have that sent to an arduino to move a dial on a analog thermometer?