counting inputs and controlling outputs

I am trying to turn on a solenoid for 20 seconds (the solenoid should turn off after the 20s interval) when a button is pushed. Then when the button is pushed again the solenoid needs to remain off. The cycle should then repeat itself. I am not a programmer of any sort so this is a very frustrating project for me, below is the code I have been trying to use, but it is not working anything like I want it to most likely because it is severely wrong. I have even combined some of the example codes in the Arduino Library with no luck.

Any help would be appreciated!!!

const int Sol1= 13; //solenoid output pin
const int button=7;          //button input pin

int buttonstate=0; 
int lastbuttonstate = 0;

int solstate=LOW; //solenoid state
unsigned long previousmillis = 0;
const long interval=20000;

void setup() {
  pinMode(Sol1,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(button,INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {  
buttonstate=digitalRead(button);
if (buttonstate!=lastbuttonstate)
  {  
  if (buttonstate == HIGH)
  {
for (int buttonpushcounter = 1;buttonpushcounter<=2;buttonpushcounter++)
{
  Serial.print("number of button pushes:  ");
  Serial.println(buttonpushcounter);

unsigned long currentmillis = millis();
    if(currentmillis - previousmillis >= interval) {
    previousmillis = currentmillis;  
    solstate=HIGH;
    }

}
}
}
digitalWrite(Sol1, solstate);
lastbuttonstate=buttonstate;

Change this
pinMode(button,INPUT);
to this
pinMode(button,INPUT_PULLUP);
with button wired to connect the pin to Gnd when pressed.
Than change this
if (buttonstate == HIGH)
to look for a LOW:
if (buttonstate == LOW)
to go along with the low on button press.

What do you have for a solenoid driver?

Do you mean that you only want the solenoid to move the very first time the button is pressed, and never afterwards?