Did I fry my Leonardo Tiny?

Hi all. I'm an absolute novice to electronics but have a tiny bit of programming knowledge. Have been learning Arduino to try and upskill and having fun along the way.

I built a door alarm that used a Duinotech Leonardo Tiny Atmega32u4, an RGB led with resistors, an active buzzer module, and a thin film pressure sensor. I'd made a prototype on an Uno and breadboard before moving to the Tiny and a prototyping board.

I finished soldering everything today and as I began programming the functions I realised the green led pin (D10) wasn't functioning (it had been in the past). I used a multimeter and found that pin D9 had no power, despite being set to digital write High... D10 had 0.5v coming out, and D11 had 5v.

Everything else seemed to be outputting power at 5V when set high, but I noticed the Atmega32u4 chip was getting very hot to the touch.

I checked continuity of all the different connections I'd made and couldn't detect any shorts. I unsoldered the wires from D9 and D10 just in case, but now the board isn't detected by my laptop. I'm wondering if I've damaged it in my novice heavy handed approach to electronics?

I'm assuming that the Atmega32u4 typically shouldn't get very hot?

Your assumption is correct, it should not really get warm!

Without your wiring schematic, and a picture of your wiring, any advise given would be guess work! But the chip getting hot usually means you have a short circuit to ground somewhere! Probably on a GPIO pin.

1 Like

Did you make a prototype with a breadboard first? Always helps me.

Thank you.

I guess I will try again with a new board.

I had made a prototype on a breadboard but used an arduino Uno rather than the tiny. I also added the thin film sensor as a last minute change.

I guess another question is is it fine to connect all the I/O pins to the same ground? I'm assuming so otherwise only having 2 grounds and 10 I/O pins is a bit silly.