EMI / ESD reset issue using AS5600 encoder & Mega 2560

I’m a programmer with little wiring knowledge. I believe I’m seeing an EMI issue that resets the arduino that is coming from when a motor limit switch triggers.

I’ve set up an Arduino Mega 2560 to interface with a linear actuator that has an AS5600 magnetic encoder attached. I have a 3 ft cable attached that has 2 motor wires, and 3 encoder wires. The motor is wired up to an external 12v power supply through a motor controller. The motor controller gets 5v, ground, and 2 digital inputs from the Mega. The encoder has 5v and ground coming from the Mega and the 0-5v signal is attached to A0. The mega is currently powered via USB, but will eventually be powered by a car battery, along with the actuators.

So long as the actuator doesn’t hit a limit switch, the program will run indefinitely. About 75% of the time it hits a limit switch, the program will reset and re-run. I tried isolating the encoder by lining it with faraday tape, but that seemed to make it worse.

How exactly can I wire up my encoder so that it doesn’t cause the arduino to reset? The 5v and ground to the encoder - do those need addressed? The 5v and ground to the motor controller could be getting feedback when the motor stops?

I have no electrical testing tools other than a multimeter so I can’t measure the spike.

EDIT: I isolated the motor controllers to a separate arduino. I connected 5v and ground to another arduino then manually moved the motor on and off the limit switch. The original mega still resets itself so the issue must be on the encoder side of things in this case.

EDIT: After reconnecting the motor controller to the Mega and disconnecting the encoder signal wire, it’s stable. If I connect the encoder signal, it immediately starts resetting the Mega. What do I need to do to the encoder signal wire? TY

Encoder:
https://www.digikey.com/catalog/en/partgroup/as5600-adapter-board/51195

Motor controller:

Actuator: