ESP8266 and WS2812B

Hello!

I am fairly new to all of this so any input is greatly appreciated!

Last winter I had attempted a project using an ESP8266 to do some lighting around the ridge line of a building with WS2812B LED strips. I was using the software from Aircookie called wLED installed on the ESP8266 to control the lights, which works extremely well. My project worked very well for quite a few months. Once summer time came around the lights were not working any longer. I investigated the problem and found some of the wires had started to melt, and the ground wire completely was gone; nothing was receiving power any longer.

I am using about 8 Meters of the strips which accounts for around 200 LED pixels. Doing some research I had decided I would need a 5v 15A power supply to power the strips. I am afraid that I am pushing too much current through the wires and into the board. Looking back my choice of wire was not ideal either. I wanted to make the ESP easy to swap out incase of problems being outside in an enclosed box. I soldered in some jumper wires from the main line which then extended into the Arduino. I now realize that the wire gauge was extremely thin for the current that I had been sending through the wires.

My big question is what can I do to modify this in order to make it work again and to be safe where I don't have to worry about starting any fires. I had contemplated trying to put a Resistor between the power supply ground into the Arduino but I am not entirely sure if that would help or fix my issue. I have attached a rough paint sketch of my current basic wiring diagram.

Thanks for your help!

Please clarify where, what value, and why, you propose to put this resistor?