Feasibility of Project with motion/speed sensors

Hi guys.

My name is Marco and I'm an intern in a textile industry in Brazil. We produce fabric used in clothes. I had an idea to measure the availability effiency of one of our machines. It is a stamp machine that uses cylinders. This machine has a continuous flow of fabric. Here some images for you understand the machine better:

http://www.irmaoshort.com.br/img/estamparia_5.jpg

The conveyor belt carries the fabric through the cylinders that stamps it. The speed ranges from 16 to 35 meters per minute.

I have no experience with arduino, but I have searched and I think it might help me. I need help to know if it's possible build such project with arduino to avoid wasting time with a tool that will not work.

The project is basic the following. One sensor that will identify if the machine is running (motion/speed sensor would work?). Every time that machines stops it will send a signal and create an entry in a spreadsheet and then another when it starts to work again (e.g. 5:36pm to 6pm machine has stopped). The operator then will write down the cause of the time down. It would be better to just show the operator the stops greater than 5 minutes, that way reducing the time that him would spend writing. Too many small stops would be annoying.

I don't know if I was clear enough. Any help would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Marco

That should not be a difficult project. Once you find a reliable way to determine if the machine is operating or not, the Arduino could send a message to a PC or laptop via the serial port.

I use the free macro PLXDAQ to post entries from the serial port to an Excel spreadsheet (works with older versions of Excel). Each spreadsheet entry can include the date and time of day the entry was made.

If you have a sensor that can tell if the machine is stopped or working the rest should be straightforward.