Hacked BIG 256 LED Matrix advice please!

Hi all,

Total beginner when it comes to electronics so apologies for any bad descriptions in advance! I need advice on a project I would like to attempt, what I would need hardware wise, and if its even possible!

I want to build a BIG 16x16 (256) matrix sequencer using meridian style tap lights, similar to these possibly:

I want to use the hardware to control a max/msp music sequencer patch loosely based on the Yamaha Tenori-on.

Can you tell me what issues I should expect to encounter with this idea?

The example lights are battery powered but I would want to adapt them to be power hardwired and as a switch that could be used with an Arduino and Max, Im guessing for the large amount I require (256) that they need to be a digital communication with the Arduino? How should I approach this? I have read some articles about shift registers but I don't really understand to be honest. I would also like to be able to control the brightness of the LED, and potentially have all 256 on at the same time. Is this going to cause power/CPU issues do you think? Can I power them from the Arduino?

Are there many other glaring issues Im missing?! All advice gratefully received.

Thanks in advance

Can you tell me what issues I should expect to encounter with this idea?

1. The issue of controlling a light that was not designed to be controlled externally.
  2. The cost of all the lights
  3. The fact that not only do you want to light up these lights but you probably need to detect they have been touched or tapped. They might not be hacakable to have both those controls accessible.
  4. The fact that this is quite an advanced project and you are a beginner.

I have read some articles about shift registers but I don't really understand to be honest.

That to me says forget this project for the moment, it is way too advanced for you, even though shift registers are probably not required.