Hello Everyone, Newbie Here w/ a Project in Mind

Hi everyone. Wow, I found this online and all of the sudden it's all I can think about.

I have a project below, maybe two I would love to experiment with. However, am I over my head since I have no knowledge of electronics (besides basic old car wiring), math, resistors, diodes, programing...

I want to make a keyless entry system that uses the same RFID key for my home, work and car(s).

I am not expecting to do this immidiatly, however inthink this could be done easily with an arduino and some relays right? :slight_smile:

I am ordering my first arduino Monday morning.

Is there anything specific that you can suggest that I order to practice and learn? Or maybe a specific project I should try doing first to learn? (I learn so much better by doing than reading, a little dislexic and definatley have add). :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks in advance for the suggestions.

Scott

I want to make a keyless entry system that uses the same RFID key for my home, work and car(s).
I am ordering my first arduino Monday morning.

I think you'll need more than one... One for the house, one for the office, one for each car...

I am not expecting to do this immidiatly, however inthink this could be done easily with an arduino and some relays right?

Yes. presuming you get an RFID reader, to. The Arduino can't read RFID tags by itself.

Or maybe a specific project I should try doing first to learn?

Projects that interest YOU will be more rewarding than those that interested a book author. There are some good books, though. "Getting Started with Arduino" by Massimo Banzi and "Making Things Talk" by Tom Igoe are good books. There is good online book at Earhshine,com, though they keep moving it. You'll need to hunt for it there, or search for them in the forum.

Thank you for your reply.