Help with piezo midi drum using CD4051 [solved]

Hi,

I apologize if I have made a duplicate post, but I’ve been searching for something similar and couldn’t find one. I am new to Arduino and electronics in general. I am trying to make a midi drum based on schematic and sketch I found here:

htp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LW8UZjsuBS0

First I tested with a single piezo, connected to A0 on the Arduino. I use Serial_MIDI_Converter_V2D, loopMIDI and Battery 4 for sampling and it worked.

Mine needs only 8 inputs right now, so I used a single CD4051 chip to multiplex the inputs and modified the code accordingly. I built the circuit on a perfboard with only one piezo disc connected. But when I uploaded the sketch, all the notes are played on Battery, even though I didn’t hit the piezo.

I wrote the sketch below to test the circuit, attached a single piezo on pin 1 of the CD4051:

int r0 = 0;
int r1 = 0;
int r2 = 0;
int multiplex[8];

void setup()
{
  pinMode(2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(4, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
  for(int count=0; count <= 7; count++)
  {
    r2 = bitRead(count,0);
    r1 = bitRead(count,1);
    r0 = bitRead(count,2);
    digitalWrite(2, r0);
    digitalWrite(3, r1);
    digitalWrite(4, r2);
    multiplex[count] = analogRead(0);
    Serial.println(multiplex[count]);
    delay(2000);
  }
  Serial.println();
}

And the output I get on the serial monitor is attached below(without hitting the piezo disc). I also attached a picture of the schematic I found (modified based on mine).

Can anyone please help me with my mistakes.

Reading.jpg

built the circuit on a perfboard with only one piezo disc connected.

You must not leave inputs to the multiplexer unconnected. If you want to only have one sensor wired up you must wire all the other pins to ground, otherwise the floating channels pick up interference and can give you any value, as you have found.

For more on floating inputs see:-