How do you use a LCD screen and program it for fan speed and display rpm?

I am putting together a shopping list for an arduino. I would like to have an lcd screen that is some how connected to a dc fan.

How exactly do you have a screen showing "Speed 10%" then when you press a small up button it then changes to "speed 20%" etc then have like a enter button to select the speed. And as soon as you hit that enter button the fan speed will increase to what ever speed you select.

How is that done? Is one particular brand/type of LCD better than others? I read that serial LCD is easier to use as it only have 4 wires.

Then also if I wanted a temperature sensor to display the temp on the lcd is that hard to do. Can you set up pages, so like show fan speed on page 1, temp on page 2, and on page 3 the motor speed adjustment selector.

Peter

Hi…

I’m no expert on this, but I guess it’s true to say that you don’t connect the LCD to the fan, but rather connect both to the Ardy 8). Then your sketch displays a message, you react and press a button, and the Ardy reacts to the button and controls the fan.

The below sketch is from the LCD library and I have a tiny modification in it to light up one LED when one of the buttons is pushed and off again with another button. I have one of these LCD shields.

In the sketch you can see how to write to the screen and read a button and react to it. Then it’s a matter of having the sketch control the PWM output of a pin to control the motor speed, thru the base of a transistor with the appropriate diode protection as described about half way down this page

//Sample using LiquidCrystal library
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

/*******************************************************

This program will test the LCD panel and the buttons
Mark Bramwell, July 2010
Jim May 2012... also "up" button lights up led on pin 2

********************************************************/

// select the pins used on the LCD panel