How to battery power a 5V microcontroller with a 3.7V lithium battery (WT32-SC01 PLUS)

I am still quite new to microcontrollers but with my current knowledge I assembled the following battery powered circuit:

Basically a 3.7V battery with a 5V boost controller powering a WT32-SC01 PLUS board (https://www.antratek.com/media/wysiwyg/pdf/WT32-SC01-Plus-V1.3-EN.pdf). Hope that circuit is correct?

Now I want to put all in a 3D printed case that has ONE (!) USB-C port I can use for charging the battery / powering the device / flashing the board.

I have three potential circuits.

A)

... I assume will not really work because in this circuit the power will not charge the battery right?

B)

... should cause issues because I have basically two power inputs now by simply splitting the USB input? One routed to the onboard USB-C and one coming from the battery?

C)

... best solution because data and power is separated?

Would be very thankful about feedback.

*one thing I want to change is to move the "PWR Switch" to the positive line connecting to the WT32-SC01 PLUS board. So that this way I can charge the battery with the device itself being turned off

According to the data sheet the correct power input is on pins 1,2 of the Extended I/O connector.

... best solution because data and power is separated?

Are they?

Sending 5V to the battery is not a good nor safe idea.
I would suggest using

as your input from your USB charging to the battery as it will protect and safely charge the battery.

Place it before your power switch, that way you can charge the battery both when the power is switched on or off

... both can be used for power input "Extended IO Interface" as well as "RS485". For me the direction the RS485 is facing towards is beneficial for my case placement.

I just like doing things the way the board manufacturer suggests.

1 Like

Where do you read that? To me both are stated in the technical specs as "power supply".