How to choose the right thermal pad/paste

Hello everyone,

I would like to use a heatsink for my brushless controller mosfets ( Link ),

And it's kind of confusing to choose the right thermal-pads and/or thermal-paste, I don't know which one of them is suitable for my need.

I would appreciate your helps.

Thanks

What have you looked at so far?

1 Like

Thermal pads thickness, which apparently don't dissipate heat as much as the thinner ones and the their heat sink need screws to hold in position, and the thermal-paste which seems to stick to the heatsink.

But since I am using the driver in the fully vibrating surfaces, I don't know which one of them would be a good option.
and for the 36V-15A which one of them can do the job?

BTW, this is my first time using heat sink, sorry if I'm making any mistakes.

I would use thermal paste, with a clip, or screw mount, ideally you want to threadlock the screw if you can.

Are you referring to MOSFETs on the board you linked to? Are you adding a heat sink to the ones on the board or removing them to a separate heat sink?
Paul

1 Like

I am referring to the MOSFETs on the board, I would like to add heat sink to those MOSFETs.

something like this:

heatsink

That seems to be a waste, as you will not be able to add individual screws to each MOSFET for attachment to the heat sink.
Would be easier to provide better air circulation to the MOSFETS if you can return them to upright position. Individual hear sinks might then be possible.
Paul

1 Like

I appreciate your help.

Since this driver is about to be put in the dust and dirt situation, what is your opinion about this:

Putting a huge heat sink that could cover all the mosfets, and put a thermal pad in between heat sink and mosfets.
Then screw the driver and the heatsink to a base.

I mean like this:
heat sink _driver

A heat sink is worthless in a dust and dirt situation.
Paul

1 Like