How to determine stepper motor voltage?

I've played with steppers and stepper drivers before and got them working nicely but I'm no expert. Now I've bought a new driver and looking at a new motor. The motor says "Rated current 4.2A & resistance 0.9ohms ". My driver has different current settings one of which is "current 3.5 peak 4.0" and the voltage input calls for 9-42vdc. My question is how do you determine what input voltage to use? If I can supply 9V @4amps am I good? What reasons are there to use higher voltage?

Higher voltage = higher speeds at high torques possible. You got quite a big motor, rated at 4.2A.

My advice: Get a power supply up to 35..36V @ 5..6A (-> 24V minimum if 35..36V not available) (to stay a little bit under the maximum voltage of your driver) The bigger amperage is ok, guarantees that your power supply doesn't have to operate at its limits, which will guarantee a longer life for the supply.

Set the driver current limiter to a value close to a value of up to 4A. So the driver gets powered by 35 .. 36V and takes care in every operational situation, that the stepper doesn't get more than 4A (current limit); the motor's electrical limits will be taken care of by the driver.

9V @4A would work but you don't use the existing power of your motor.

rpt007: 9V @4A would work but you don't use the existing power of your motor.

How would I know this? Should the motors have a power rating?

Here's a link to the motor... amazon

Here's the driver... amazon

freakdaddy: How would I know this? Should the motors have a power rating?

The important number for a stepper motor is the current - in that case it is 2.8amps.

Within reason (i.e. below maybe 100v or wherever the motor insulation breaks down) the higher the voltage the better the motor will perform. PROVIDED that the stepper driver is set so that it does not allow more than 2.8amps to flow.

...R Stepper Motor Basics Simple Stepper Code

Good to know. Thanks!