How to enable max stepper motor holding torque

Hello, this is my first time posting so I hope it's in the right spot!

I have a NEMA 23 motor (23HS30-2804S) connected to ST6600 driver which I want to use to lift something then hold it in place. By using a power supply which supplies 3A @ 32V and a simple pulse signal to the driver, I can turn the motor to lift up the object successfully.

But as soon as I stop the command to spin the motor, the load falls because the motor's holding torque is too low. It is so low that you can turn it by your hand if you try hard enough.

When the motor is idling with no step commands, I can see from the power supply that it's only drawing 0.1A (rated current of 2.8A/phase). Can anyone inform me on how this holding torque thing is supposed to work?

Thank you!

1 Like

Are you sure the driver isn't being disabled at idle? The motor should be pulling close to max current when energised and not rotating.

The driver has enable pins, I've made sure I've grounded both of them so driver is enabled. Are there any other ways to make sure?

Different drivers work in different ways, check the documentation.

Put a multimeter to read the current on a single wire between the driver and motor. That shouldn't drop at idle unless the driver is switching off. Be careful to connect it securely as it can potentially damage the driver if it disconnects when running.

If the driver has a switch for "standby" or "idle" current or some such, turn it OFF. Post a link to the driver's user manual.

Hi,
What have you got the current limit on the controller set to?

Do you have a DMM?

Thanks.. Tom.. :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

I tried searching everywhere but information is unfortunately scarce with this driver (school provided it for a project). I would have to assume it's quite similar to a TB6600...