How to enter AT mode in HC-05 bluetooth module

Hi guys, I'm new to arduino and electronics so please bare with me. I've been trying to enter AT mode with a HC-05 bluetooth module (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/180957186752?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649). This is what I did;

1. I used a USB to Serial adaptor (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/170910289160?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649).
  2. Connected TX bluetooth to RX adaptor, RX bluetooth to TX adaptor (Via a voltage regulator http://www.instructables.com/id/Cheap-2-Way-Bluetooth-Connection-Between-Arduino-a/step3/Wiring-the-Arduino-Bluetooth-transceiver/).
  3. Connected power (3.3v) and ground (I used a voltage regulator to bring the 5v from the adaptor down to 3.3v).
  4. Then I connected pin 34 bluetooth (PIO11) to 3.3v (To make the pin go high).
  5. Opened PuTTY and set it to Serial mode. Used COM8 (the USB to Serial adaptor COM port) and 9600 baud rate. (When this didn't work I also tried 38400 baud rate).
  6. In the terminal section of PuTTY set Local echo to Force on.
  7. Entered "AT\r\n" in PuTTY.

I didn't get an OK as the result. Did I do something wrong? Any help please?

Instructions on how to enter AT command mode (http://elecfreaks.com/store/download/datasheet/Bluetooth/HC-0305%20serail%20module%20AT%20commamd%20set%20201104%20revised.pdf)

Bump! Anyone have any idea?

Found a manual that’s a bit easier to read here http://iteadstudio.com/Downloadfile/BluetoothHC05.pdf and as you say it states you pull pin 34 (PIO11) to VCC (3.3V) and then power on.

How to set the mode to server (master):

1. Connect PIO11 to high level.
  2. Power on, module into command state.
  3. Using baud rate 38400, sent the “AT+ROLE=1\r\n” to module, with “OK\r\n”
    means setting successes.
  4. Connect the PIO11 to low level, repower the module, the module work as server
    (master).

Is your FTDI serial cable set for 3.3V or 5V