How to tell how powerfull a motor is needed. (Pancake making machine)

Hey guys I am a pancake artist. Yes, I make art with pancakes. I thought it could be fun, as I been working with arduino, and coding in gernal, a lot. I am new to motors and no matter how you do this it needs to be using a motor; Or two.

Well the machine itself is easy enough you have a picture input (depending on how much money I can pull its either a SD card or bluetooth but thats irrelvant for this question) and the machine will print it as a pancake. The blacker a shade is the more delay before going to next shade (was considering 4-8 shades of gray). However as I am new to motors and this machine its importen it get from A to B within seconds I was wondering: "Which measure do I need to look for to be sure it can get to A-B in x amount of seconds?"

After reading the chapter of motors in my eletric book it seemed to be the RPM I need to look at. I found the formular of: cm/s = radius × RPM × 10.472 - Taken out of my electric book.

Which converts it into cm/s which is what I need.

Am I totally wrong here? Or am I hitting something right? I dont know the exact measurements but I was thinking of having a 13 cm long line to travel at for both axies.

I can't picture your machine from your description. Maybe you can make a drawing of what you have in mind and post a photo of the drawing.

If you need precise control you may need stepper motors but I would like to understand the project better before being more definite.

...R

Hey dude. I don't know how to explain it more precisely. Its basicly a 3d printer, however its only limted to 2d. I think its quite clear that this machine prints a pancake based of a picture. The problem I am running into is that the motor needs to be not only precisely but also fast. My budget is quite limited and therefore I would love to use as minimal power as possible.