How to Wire a Piezo as an Impact Sensor

Beginner here, seeking advice on understanding the very different schematics I'm finding about wiring a piezo as a vibration sensor.

In the Arduino program, there's a 'Knock' program (Examples 06->Sensors) that instructs wiring the positive terminal of the piezo to A0 and the negative through a 1M Ohm resistor to ground, like in the Tutorial book. That's in series, yes?
Screen Shot 2021-09-02 at 11.59.49 AM

But other projects instruct wiring the resistor in between both leads of the piezo (in parallel, yes?), like at this site
http://www.learningaboutelectronics.com/Articles/Piezo-knock-sensor-circuit.php
Screen Shot 2021-09-02 at 12.19.54 PM

While others suggest adding diodes as well (and 470k Ohm resistor instead?):
https://hackaday.io/project/8478-star-wars-nerf-targets
Screen Shot 2021-09-02 at 12.22.21 PM

and
https://www.defproc.co.uk/analysis/sensing-nerf-darts/

I think I understand that last schematic, but I don't know how to gauge its value compared to the other designs, and I'm left with these questions:

• Is it better here to use the 1M Ohm resistor in series (to ground) or parallel, and why?
  • What's the function of the diodes, and why use both Zener and Shottky?
  • Are the diodes an improvement here or unnecessary? All 3 or just 2?

In case it helps, here's the big picture: I'm aiming to make a target sensor that can tell when hit by a nerf dart, and using the approach discussed in this Forum thread:

https://forum.arduino.cc/t/impact-sensor-piezo-knocksensor-or-vibration-sensor-feasible/117100

All this is new to me, but I think I can work out the code if I have a sensible wiring plan. Does that last one look good? Something else?

The circuits will all work. Most people are happy with the results of using a ~1 Meg resistor in parallel with the piezo sensor.