I need an Adult haha

Hey all,
I am incredibly new to this so bare with me.

Heres what I have

-2 NEMA 17 Stepper Motors (red, yellow, green, gray)
-Arduino UNO R3
-OSEPP Motor & Servo Sheild
-6 double AA battery pack
-B10K potentiometer
-B50K Potentiometer
-Jumper cables, bread board and other misc parts

heres what im trying to do.

Id like to have 1 stepper motor running forward, and one running in reverse. Id like to be able to control the speed of both steppers with a potentiometer, and i need it to run very very slow.

I work for a well known watch company in Detroit as a videographer and my plan is to make a rig that I can hookup a watch to and make it turn around very very slow infinitely. Or basically a vertical turn table. I have some machining experience so im not worried about how im going to make the clamps for the straps or anything. But I have spent about 2 days trying to figure out how to make this work. Ive been trying to learn some code and im not getting confused but im getting overwhelmed and I dont wanna tap out but I just dont know what im doing wrong. I feel like, for what im trying to accomplish, I should have figured this out by now but im lost. Can anyone help me out?

If you have some code that is not doing what you want then post it and tell us in as much detail as possible {A} what it actually does and {B} what you want it to do that is different.

In the meantime these links may help
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

Stepper motors are inefficient and not really suitable for battery power because they draw full power even when stationary. However you can easily make a stepper motor take 1 step every month if you that's all that is needed.

...R

That should be easy enough although that motor shield is totally unsuitable for driving low-impedance stepper motors. You need a driver based on an A4988 or DRV8825 for small motors up to 1.4A.