Ideas on how to save power (nano)

I’m am looking for some guidance on my first Arduino project. I am using a nano to control a servo motor. The motor will move back and forth once every 30 mins. I was wondering, what is the best way to save power? I am powering the board off of 4 AA batteries.

First things first, supply us with a proper schematic.

Show us a good schematic of your circuit.

Show us a good image of your ‘actual’ wiring.

Give links to components.

sorry I am new to this kind of thing. what is the best way of creating a schematic?

If you have access to a PCB design program, use it to make the schematic.

An image of a schematic drawn with pencil on paper works too.

so it’s essentially like this but instead of an UNO its a nano (the software didn’t have nano’s on)
the servo i am using is MG996R MG995 Torque Gear Servo Motor Futaba JR RC Truck Racing 180 360 degrees | eBay

not really sure how to manage the power

For a real, low power implementation, the Nano is unsuitable because it has power hungry components like a USB interface chip, Leds and a voltage regulator. It is better to use something like a barebones ATMega328p. An Arduino Pro Mini comes also close. Anyway, see this for extreme Low Power ideas: https://www.gammon.com.au/power

I would suggest powering the Nano via it’s 5V pin from 3 of the AAs, and then use the 4th to keep 6V for the servo.
As you can see in the Nano schematic, the FTDI chip is powered when 5V is applied.
A better approach would be use a Pro Mini; connect an FTDI Basic when you want to download code, then remove it.
Supply 4.5V via the VCC pin so the battery voltage is bypassing the regulator.

It won’t work. There is no common ground.

ok thanks! i’ll look into the pro mini

Yes. I’ve just been through this and my latest device sleeps so well that if I did need to measure the current I would need a new multimeter…

I don’t pretend to understand every detail but Nick Gammon makes it easy to do.