Improving SdCard Write Time

Hello everyone,
I have a FSM that is designed to record two samples to a file on the SdCard at 20-Hz. For the most part the program runs without any issues except I occasionally get some outliers of +200ms in post processing review. It is random and can show up in sample sizes ranging from 500 samples to 28,000 samples. I am sure it is something in my code but I don’t know where I should focus. This is my first time using SdCards so I thought it would be best to post here.

Some information on the project:

• Board: Arduino Uno
  • SdCard Shield: Adafruit Datalogging Shield
  • SdCard: Toshiba 2GB SD-C02G JAPAN

File Structure Format:
millis(), ADC Value 1, ADC Value 2

I am checking the frequency by performing millis()n+1-millis()n in post processing and this is where I am finding the anomalies.

Am I misunderstanding the buffer therefore causing the issue? Or is it something unrelated to SdCard use in general?

// Libraries
#include <SdFat.h>
#include <RTClib.h>

RTC_PCF8523 rtc;

enum state {
  _readState,
  _displayState,
  _createState,
  _bufferState,
  _writeState,
  _errorState
};

state _currentState;

// Declare Variables
struct sample {
  char* _name;
  const int pin;      // Input pin
  unsigned int raw;   // Raw value
  float value;        // Calculated value
};

sample Val1 = {"Val1", 2, 0, 0};   // Voltage range 0.5 - 4.5 VDC
sample Val2 = {"Val2", 3, 0, 0};    // Voltage range 0.0 - 5.0 VDC

const int ledRecord = 6;
const int pinSwitch = 7;
const int ledRead =  8;
const int ledError = 9;
const int pinSD = 10;

unsigned long currentMillis;  // Used for storing the latest time
unsigned long previousMillis = 0;      // Store the last time the program ran
const unsigned long interval = 50;     // Sample frequency (milliseconds)

int pinState;

String filename;
char _header[20];
SdFat SD;
File dataFile;    // SD Card

String buffer;  // String to buffer output

void setup() {
  // Start serial
  Serial.begin(57600);