LCD keypad shields

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this question but please give me some grace! I am still relatively new to Arduino so this may be a newbie error.. I have been creating a series of projects using my Arduino UNO R3 board with a basic 16x2 SainSmart lcd shield with a keypad.

In most all of my projects, I have a menu setup on the lcd with a toggle method (right/left) to view live streaming data from a series of individual sensors. While my toggling works, sometimes I have to press a button on the shield multiple times before I will get a response. I have found that sometimes I get the best response time when I hold down a button for about 3 seconds, and when I let go, the programmed reaction plays out. I thought it could just be that my UNO R3 board's processor was too slow to handle running all my sensors and the lcd so I tried my same setup on a MEGA 2560 board with the same result. :0

My question is simple: Is my problem with button response time an issue with programming, or the buttons on my particular shield? I have seen other shields have lightning fast button response while running far more complex programming than mine. I need a pro to point me in the right direction. What kind of lcd shield have you found works the most consistently and fastest?

Any tips or examples greatly appreciated! :smiley:

I would say that this is a perfect example of what is wrong with the Arduino/Wiring programming paradigm and the challenges that it gives. Any "larger" embedded system will contain several tasks/threads; in your case at least 1) monitor the keypad, 2) sample the sensors, 3) do some logging and/or calculations, 4) handle the display, and 5) service communication with host/network.

Doing this as a pure sequential program is difficult and it is easy to miss external events, mix-up states, etc. This can occur when sampling the sensors, etc. Or even when updating the LCD. Remember that clearing a 1602 LCD takes over 2 ms.