LCD scrambles after switching breaker

Hi All,

So my project is about monitoring the aquarium temperature with DS18B20 temp sensor and switching relay plus leds, based and temperature set points.

There is a transistor on the led and also on the relay. on the relay i also placed a capacitor and diode as other topics explain that the switching relays can scramble the LCD.

Now the switching of relay goes smooth without any problem, what causes the scrambling now is when i switch on the aquarium filter.

I made a power distribution board with a breaker for every user; filter, lightning, heater and Arduino 5v power supply. Switching on another breaker causes change in the power supply to the Arduino which results in the scrambling of the LCD.

What can solve this problem? Would a capacitor on the incoming 5v supply help?

Im not a expert in electronics and i get all solutions from experts online :smiley:

This is how the Relay is wired.
See attached pic.

IMG_2689.jpg

IMG_2690.PNG

Thomassen85:
There is a transistor on the led and also on the relay. on the relay I also placed a capacitor and diode as other topics explain that the switching relays can scramble the LCD.

That diagram is not overly helpful and I am not at all sure what the capacitor is supposed to do!

The suggestion is that you place a 100 µF capacitor directly across pins 1 and 2 of the LCD display.

This problem has a lot to do with "wiring dress" - how you run the wires to the Arduino. You may note my advice on this in other posts. A photo of your wiring may be helpful to critique. :grinning:

A / E control unit:

1. The load is not less than 20% in (three-phase);

2. The load is not less than 40% in (two-phase);

3. The load is not less than 100% in (single phase);

4. When the external 24V DC power supply is connected.

D / P / h control unit:

1. The circuit breaker is closed (even if it is no load), and the upper port is powered;

2. Power supply at the lower opening of the circuit breaker;