LM 35 Temperature sensor accuracy

G'day all,

I'm a very raw newbie who has been playing around with my shiny new Arduino Uno for 5 days or so, and have somehow got a bit of a project working :)

It simply reads data from an LM35 temperature sensor and belts it out the serial port every 30 seconds. A C# app running on my PC scans the serial port and uploads the data to a database.

Finally, it's presented in a very basic page on the web. Feel free to have a look : http://autohouse.dode.com.au:8001

This page returns the last 500 reads, but as you may notice, there are some fairly large fluctuations (some in excess of 4 degrees Celcius), which, over such a small time frame (30-60 seconds) seems unlikely to me.

The circuit is super simple - +5V and gnd to the power legs of the LM35, with the data line connected to A0 on the Arduino.

Here's a code snippet that shows the conversion (seems very elementary to me, but I read a number of posts on forums that said this was the way).

temperatureValue = analogRead(temperatureSensorPin); 
  float degC=temperatureValue/2.00;

Do I need any other components around the LM35, is there a better way in math to achieve the conversion, or am I simply barking up the wrong tree?

Any and all thoughts are welcomed.

Cheers,

Melbfella.

How is your Arduino Uno powered ? I hope not only the USB bus. If you use the +5V reference, the value changes if the voltage changes. If you have selected 1.1V reference, it is no problem. http://arduino.cc/it/Reference/AnalogReference http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/LM35HigherResolution

You should take the average of 10 to 20 samples. There is always some ADC noise, and noise from the circuit. You could even add a delay of about 100ms between the samples. If your power supply is good, taking the average should make a smooth line !

How is your hardware ? If you have long wires to the sensor, there must be a decoupling capaciter of 100nF.