Mac - duemilanove 328 - port not showing

Hi
I am completely new to Arduino. I have installed the software, connected my board (duemilanove 328) via a usb cable to a mac pro (10.7.3), the green light is on BUT I do not see a usb port in the list (only 6 bluetooth ports are there). Do I need to install a driver? What can be the problem?
Thank you for your assistance.
Paul

The short answer is: yes, you need to install the FTDI drivers.

See this for details: http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/MacOSX#toc3

The link indicated in the 'get started' guide does not work from South Africa!
http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm
Is there an alternative?

paulgodard:
The link indicated in the 'get started' guide does not work from South Africa!
VCP Drivers - FTDI
Is there an alternative?

Attached.

FTDIUSBSerialDriver_v2_2_17.dmg (421 KB)

After updating my IDE, I ran into a similar problem, and I've tried reinstalling the FTDI driver, then restarting the computer twice.

I'm running a MacBook Pro w/ OSX 10.6.8, trying to upload to a Duemilanove 328. The USB port is not showing on the Tools > Serial port list, only the bluetooth devices (i.e., /dev/tty.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync, /dev/cu.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync, /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem, /dev/cu.Bluetooth.Modem).

Wouldn't be so broken up about it except that I'm having the same or a similar problem on my (fairly recent) Ubuntu install. After working for some time with no problems, I upgraded to the latest version of the IDE and now it won't recognize my USB port(s).

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Edit: And I've been through the troubleshooting guide several times, and unless I'm misreading something, it's not addressing my problem.

The IDE version has nothing to do with if the FTDI drivers work.

If have two different operating systems that cannot see the board, there is something wrong with the FTDI chip on the board.

On either OSX or Linux you can do:
ls /dev/tty.usb*