modulate freq output based on freq input and voltage input

Absolute newbie, any advice appreciated:

I have a racecar Ecu that outputs a 0-5v square wave tacho pulse between 0 and 13000rpm. This is my freq input. I also have a throttle position sensor voltage 0-5v analogue that is my second input. I need to output a frequency that is a derivative of both the inputs- effectively dividing my input frequency by my input voltage.

I figure this should be feasible using PulseIn() and a little maths? I have already built an optoisolator circuit on the analogue input as there is a lot of noise on this line.

The output from the arduino will be fed back into the engine ecu, where it gets used in a boost control algorithm.

Is this a bit much for a first project?

thanks, Paul

Is this a bit much for a first project?

a bit,

you should look at interrupts, far better for this application..

Try googling Frequency Counter for measuring a frequency (Tachometer) and the Analog input is easy.

Unless you have a more specific question about the math, I don't think we can help you much for that part. Just don't make it too complicated or you may not be able to finish your computations in time if you are doing it on the arduino (and depending on your sample time).

You might need to explore writing your own timer code to produce the output frequency. You'll need to investigate the timer code itself, and there may be limits. I'm not sure how the timers are allocated on the arduino

PS: This might be easier to do if you start from scratch and skip using the arduino software and instead use Atmel Studio or write your own code. Then you'll know what your timers are doing.

i would use a simple freq to volt converter, actually one capacitor and a diode is enough to get this.

I figure this should be feasible using PulseIn() and a little maths? I have already built an optoisolator circuit on the analogue input as there is a lot of noise on this line.

problems: