Motor Controller for Cordless Drill Motor

Hi all,

I'm new to electronics and was hoping to get some of your feedback. I want to be able to control the speed of a cordless drill motor in response to an external load (more load, less speed). Originally, I thought that an L298N motor driver would be ideal for this, but I think the drill motor (RS550 10.6V) draws too much current for the L298N and it gets really hot when it's connected.

Are there any high current motor controllers that you have used with Arduino that can help with load sensing and feedback control? Thanks for your help!!

You need to look up the specs for that motor.
I would guess that motor has a stall current over 50A .
You need to know the amps required for a motor before you can select a driver.

detown:
You need to look up the specs for that motor.
I would guess that motor has a stall current over 50A .
You need to know the amps required for a motor before you can select a driver.

Thanks so much for your reply! Yes, from what I've been reading, the stall current can be very high with this motor. Is there any way to limit the current so that if it reaches say 25A or so, the motor will just stop? I'm looking into a BTS7960 chip which can handle 43A and is relatively cheap so I'd want to try and use that if possible.

The motor will briefly draw the stall current every time it starts up. The driver MUST be able to handle it.

Unless the supply itself is current limiting.

Stall current can be measured by measuring the motor terminal resistance, and dividing into the supply voltage.

Be careful measuring small resistances to correct for meter lead resistance (a 4-terminal measurement may be
needed).

If you motor is .3 ohms and 10.6V, then its stall current is 10.6 / 0.3 = 35A, for instance.