Moving from Arduino to smaller board?

Hey all!

I have a project that I currently use with an Arduino board that I'd like to move to something smaller that I can permanently solder my parts to. It has 3 buttons (one clasping) & two servos; one button to move each servo, and the clasping button to invert both servos' positions & function. They also are powered by a 9v (for Arduino) and a pack of AAs (for servos)
I'm wondering what sort of smaller board I can move them to, to be more permanent & take up less space overall, and wondering if they can possibly all be powered from one source? I'd also like to keep my programming the same & just copy it over to the new board, if at all possible? I'm fairly new to this as well, so any other guidance is much appreciated!

SBishop:
powered by a 9v (for Arduino) and a pack of AAs (for servos)

That sounds ominous, probably full of grief, and powering the whole lot off something sensible would be a really good idea. I don't know how suitable a pack of AAs would be in your case, but the 9v is probably most unsuitable.

The ProMini and the like are essentially Unos in a different package, and the programmes are interchangeable. The processor in a standard Uno can be removed and transferred to your own PCB. I understand it needs about one dollar's worth of peripherals to make it a functioning MCU.

Have you looked at the ESP boards, like the NodeMCU?

If you want something very small then just use an Atmega 328 chip on a PCB or piece of stripboard.

...R

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".
OR
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.

What model Arduino are you using now?
A ProMini would be as @Nick_Pyner has suggested what may be what you need.
Or a Nano, if you need the onboard USB socket.

Can you tell us your electronics, programming, arduino, hardware experience?

Tom... :slight_smile: